Special Notice

This site has recently been expanded to include historical information from the Cobourg History site.  All information previously on this site is still here.  Some Google searches may now end up here - use the site search box if you don't immediately find what you are looking for.

Search this site


Based on the advice from the Town of Cobourg and the Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit, face to face meetings at Victoria Hall have been cancelled until further notice. In order to stay connected and to keep you safe during the pandemic, monthly meetings are taking place by Virtual Zoom webinars. You can join by desktop or a laptop computer, tablet or smart phone!


Cobourg and District Historical Society Meetings are held every month except May, June, July, August and December.  Meetings are held in the Citizen's Forum in Victoria Hall on the fourth Tuesday in the Month.  Meetings start at 7:30pm but coffee and cookies are available starting at 7:00pm.  Meetings are $5 for non-members and free for members of the society and students. 

More on our About page.

By the Senior Class of Northumberland Christian School - 2017

Following the retreat of the last ice age, and the draining of the greater Lake Iroquois, when Lake Ontario came into its own setting, dense forest covered the plains and hills. The native people moved in to occupy, to hunt and to fish the lands, lakes, and rivers. For several thousand years they lived here their nomadic and outdoor life. (Footnote 1)

First Nations in what is now Canada were able to satisfy all of their material and spiritual needs through the resources of the natural world around them. (Footnote 2)

When European and Loyalist settlers came to Canada, they made agreements with the native inhabitants to make sure they had land to settle on. (Footnote 3)  Popularly known as treaties, these agreements allowed the Crown in Canada to acquire lands on the north shore of the upper St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario between Montreal and the Trent River, and land lying between the head of Lake Ontario and Lake Erie (Footnote 4).

Cobourg sits on the traditional land of the Ojibwe/Chippewa people. (Footnote 5) The Williams Treaty was signed by the British crown and local native communities in 1923. The Williams Treaty covers present-day Cobourg, Northumberland, and parts of Durham. (Footnote 6) The Williams Treaties First Nations are comprised of the Mississaugas of Alderville First Nation, Curve Lake First Nation, Hiawatha First Nation, Scugog Island First Nation and the Chippewas of Beausoleil First Nation, Georgina Island First Nation and the Rama First Nation. (Footnote 7)


  1. “Early Cobourg”, Percy Lloyd Climo, 1985
  2. Government of Canada - Indigenous and Northern Affairs - Early First Nations: The Six Main Geographical Groups
  3. Williams Treaty - Dan Shaule
  4. Government of Canada - Indigenous and Northern Affairs - Treaty Research Report, The Williams Treaties The Canadian Encyclopedia - Indigenous Peoples: Treaties
  5. Williams Treaty - Dan Shaule
  6. Government of Canada - Indigenous and Northern Affairs - Williams Treaty
  7. Williams treaties First Nations